Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Golf mk3 cluster converted to T3 cluster
10-07-2019, 02:07 PM
Post: #1
Golf mk3 cluster converted to T3 cluster
Hi Guys, I know many people done it before, I sow the pictures on Briekwerks website and Pinterest. I know there is a detailed talk on vortex but I'm not a member and I read that it's a bugger to get yourself registered... So, can somebody tell me out of experience, how to convert the vw Golf mk3 cluster to fit in the T3 cluster space?

Sent from my SM-J600F using Tapatalk

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall, Torque is how far you take the wall with youWink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-08-2019, 06:51 AM
Post: #2
RE: Golf mk3 cluster converted to T3 cluster
i dont think it will work on a syncro, speedo ratios are not right

I may be a mechanic, but i can't fix stupid
Bad planning on your part does not make your issue an crisis to me
Bad workmanship by other garages does not entiltle you to better rates at me
Syncro, syncro , syncro and more syncro, this is the syncro way of life
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2019, 03:25 PM
Post: #3
RE: Golf mk3 cluster converted to T3 cluster
I rather fancied that digital cluster being developed by MMT3 Tuning. It's the same as what was used in 1980s Opels, as my mother had a Commodore 3.0E with that self-same cluster. I don't know what happened to MMT3 Tuning. Their website no longer works, unless it's just down temporarily. A friend and I agreed just last week that the T3 cluster is a disaster. I have one where almost nothing works. I have a replacement to hand but when I connect it, a low oil pressure warning alarm goes off and won't shut-up. I had to take that cluster out again.

   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-31-2019, 09:07 PM
Post: #4
RE: Golf mk3 cluster converted to T3 cluster
(10-28-2019 03:25 PM)Nico Wrote:  I rather fancied that digital cluster being developed by MMT3 Tuning. It's the same as what was used in 1980s Opels, as my mother had a Commodore 3.0E with that self-same cluster. I don't know what happened to MMT3 Tuning. Their website no longer works, unless it's just down temporarily. A friend and I agreed just last week that the T3 cluster is a disaster. I have one where almost nothing works. I have a replacement to hand but when I connect it, a low oil pressure warning alarm goes off and won't shut-up. I had to take that cluster out again.
Ya, the digital looks like something out of nightrider. I suppose on a city kombi it will look quite funky.
A mate of mine had his golf 3 scraped and I was first in line to buy the cluster and dashboard harness. I got both for R300 so, it was a good test run. Now I must just get it to work. If I know the rev counter is out by X amount, I can just adjust it in my mind... I can live with it.

Sent from my SM-J600F using Tapatalk

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall, Torque is how far you take the wall with youWink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-04-2019, 06:26 AM
Post: #5
RE: Golf mk3 cluster converted to T3 cluster
rev counter will be fine, 4 cyl to 4 cyl,

speedo ratio will be the issue, syncro runs at 1000cyls per KM, 2wd combi is 500, not sure on the golf,

what is wrong with your cluster? maybe i can fix it, 083 629 9951

I may be a mechanic, but i can't fix stupid
Bad planning on your part does not make your issue an crisis to me
Bad workmanship by other garages does not entiltle you to better rates at me
Syncro, syncro , syncro and more syncro, this is the syncro way of life
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-04-2019, 08:57 PM
Post: #6
Golf mk3 cluster converted to T3 cluster
Hi there mate,

I have been battling to get hold of a diesel cluster for the syncro. I have the speedo but not with the rev counter set. My one spare that I got has a analogue clock in it. I had sort-of giving up on the idea of finding the syncro diesel cluster with speedo and rev counter in set. That is why I started looking at alternatives.

Sent from my SM-J600F using Tapatalk

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall, Torque is how far you take the wall with youWink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-18-2019, 06:45 AM
Post: #7
RE: Golf mk3 cluster converted to T3 cluster
You dont need a diesel, rev counter, they will be very hard to find locally as we never got diesel syncros or 2wd t3 buses in SA, i have a petrol rev counter in my 1.9td syncro, we made it work..

I may be a mechanic, but i can't fix stupid
Bad planning on your part does not make your issue an crisis to me
Bad workmanship by other garages does not entiltle you to better rates at me
Syncro, syncro , syncro and more syncro, this is the syncro way of life
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)